Prostate Cancer

I have now been two years free of prostate cancer and from now on the monitoring regime will reduce from a six monthly visit to the consultant in Radiology to a six monthly blood sample taken by my Health Clinic to check my PSA level.

And what a different story it could have been.  Three years ago I happened to ask my GP who was doing a blood sample for an unrelated matter if the tests included prostate. It didn’t but he said he might as well ask for it.  If that had not been done, the prostate cancer which was an aggressive type but was in a very very early stage might not have been found until it was too late.  A day hardly goes by without me thinking how fortunate I was to have had the test at that time; any earlier and it would not have been there; any later and I might not be here now.

There are no symptoms for prostate cancer in its curable stage apart from an increased frequency in the need to go to the men’s room and nearly all men suffer from that as they get older.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by robthill. Bookmark the permalink.

About robthill

I am semi-retired ICT Staff Tutor in Dundee, Scotland and an online facilitator. The views here expressed are my own somewhat quirky feelings about the world as I see it, no doubt just as prejudiced as most other bloggers.

Leave a Reply

